Hmm I havent posted in a while and a lot has happened since my last post, mainly three large events: Spring Retreat, Yosemite, and Finals (funny how I rely on facebook albums to see what happened when). I guess its only fair to start chronoliogically w/ Spring Retreat. First off, it was awesome, not as spiritual as Winter Retreat, but by far more awesome due to the location, the people, and the group dynamics. The place was just so great, out in the wilderness in a town of like 45 and I saw and got to touch real snow for the first time, that was great. I really liked my group as well because there were four people in it that I knew as aquaintances (sp?) in Newman but as nothing really more, but afterwards I got to know them a lot better. Haha I can say I already knew quite a bit about Arnell and having in the group was just a nice plus b/c hes a great guy. But I am glad I got to know more about: Scotts personality, as interesting as it may be; Amys life and how frank and honest she was and how willing she was to share such personal matters, I was kinda bummed how in Winter Retreat I really didnt get to know her at all even though she seemed really cool; Kyles version of his story on certain matters, which were important to me b/c hearing just one side doesnt seem fair, not that I had judged him earlier but it just made me realize where he was comin from and he also flattered me a lot which was real nice and made me feel better about myself; and Alyssa's story(ies) which were cool to listen to and plus she makes me laugh which is a rare thing for me, a much appreciated trait. It was also cool how we went and got to interact w/ so many ppl yet we only got to know those few really well, and also how I went w/ my whole apt, but I didnt feel like I spent all my time with them, in fact I spent virtually no time w/ any of them. It was overall just a nice feeling and experience. The retreat helped me get over some personal obstacles. Now for Yosemite... theres so much I can say about how awesome it felt to finally go there but somehow words cant explain it. Ive been wanting to go to Yosemite for a long time and Kristen and I always had plans to go but she never wanted to go just w/ me, always with a group of other ppl, a group which never materialized. But this group of ppl I went with (10 others) were so awesome. The best part about Yosemite was it was like a retreat minus all the religious and self-esteem building stuff, but by far the best part was going with a group of ppl I didnt know as well, so I made a lot of new friends out of old acquaintances. Im just really happy I got to make new friends while having a blast. It was just so awesome there, the hike up to Yosemite Falls was possibly one of the best experiences this school year, especially considering how low this school year has been for me. I really want to go back, only problem is I dont really have anyone to go with, or those who want to go cant b/c of time conflicts or budgetary problems. I'm planning a second trip Sept 17-21st and I'll see if something comes of that (hey if youre reading this...lemme know if you wanna go:-D ) Despite all the stress it was such a great experience...just soooo awesome. I mean geeze, I even managed to pull off a few smiles here and there durin that trip, which is rare for me as most people know. Third event was finals week (which includes Epic Quad Battle II). EQBII was soooo fun. I had this great idea to make crusader tunics for Newman folks fighting so I enlisted an army and got Andie to help me w/ the tunics and we looked sooo awesome on the quad. We stood out and people knew it. All I can say is next year will be sooo much better for us, trust me. EQBIII, watch out. Oh and another fun highlight of EQBII was that the last battle of the afternoon was between Newman (Catholics) vs Campus Crusade for Christ (Protestants) which was just so funny and ironic. Just worked out that way, not really planned. Finals week was also an experience as it always is, mainly just b/c everyones freaking out so much and studying for hours on end, and then theres me...who puts in so little effort during finals week. :-D people always get mad at me for that, but thats b/c I just feel confident in myself and as I told Michael "Dont you go to class to learn the stuff there the first time...? So you dont have to pour over notes and books hours the day before finals...?" He somehow didnt agree but thats ok. I did very well on my finals and am quite happy w/ my grades, even though I kinda expected them to be what I got (not to sound cocky or anything...just how things turned out). And now summer beings. I'm at Oxnard for now, but only for another 9 hours, for I leave tomorrow morning back to Davis, what I kinda refer to as home now. I finally brought myself to telling my family that I'm planning on doing the Peace Corps after college with varied responses, none of them "good for you!" but rather "whats that?" or "whats the point..." or "dont you want to reconsider...you might die or get married there..." But whatever I want to do it and thats that. Until next time....absent audience.
Emil's thoughts took float @ 8:24 PM
|